History and Past Presidents of Austin Aggie Moms

Aggie Moms of 1934

Aggie Mom Past Presidents from 2019

Ada Peoples organized the first Texas A&M University Mothers’ Club in Dallas in 1922, with the same objective that remains today. She was concerned about what she thought of as the “poor” quality of life on this all-male campus, with no entertainment, no culture and a complete lack of women’s influence. The mothers’ club idea spread and eight clubs became a federation in 1928, with Mrs. F. L. Thomas as the first Federation President. The Federation Board of today consists of 16 officers and several appointed positions. Those women serve as a coordinating body for 124 clubs and membership of more than 8,000.

The Federation of Texas A&M Mothers’ Clubs may not have seemed like much when it began in 1928: just a few mothers of students of the then-Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas selling goods to support their sons’ educations. But since then, the clubs have grown into a vital network of nearly 7,000 mothers across the globe, dedicated to raising funds for Texas A&M University students and programs.

Since the organization was founded through 2010, Aggie moms have given approximately $7.9 million to support the university. To date, this year alone, the Aggie moms have collectively raised nearly $300,000. Surprisingly, the majority of this profit comes from selling trinkets — clubs peddle everything from clothing and baby clothes, cookbooks, framed artwork, Christmas ornaments, quilts, pecans, jewelry, handmade soaps and lotions, home décor and glassware — most of which is Texas A&M-themed, of course.

The impact of the Aggie moms can be seen throughout the campus, say Texas A&M officials. “The support of our Aggie Moms’ Clubs, present and past, remains a vital factor in keeping A&M’s student body unique and special,” says Lt Gen Joe Weber, USMC (Ret). “And it’s our student body which makes A&M, itself, unique and special.”

Charter Members
Mrs. Mike Balagia
Mrs. Chester A. Freund
Mrs. A.W. Haenel
Mrs. F. F. Hill
Mrs. F. C. Homeyer

Austin Aggie Moms’ Past Presidents

  Names  Years
 Mrs. J.W. Flora  1938-1939
 Mrs. F. F. Hill  1939-1941
 Mrs. John R. Banister  1941-1943
 Mrs. Leola Shipley  1943-1945
 Mrs. Fred P. Helm  1945-1947
 Mrs. Boyd Rhea  1947-1949
 Mrs. Mike Balagia  1949-1950
 Mrs. C. 0. Harris  1950-1951
 * Mrs. H. W. Zuch  1951-1953
 *Mrs. Leonard Carlton  1953-1954
 * Mrs. William Alsup, Jr.  1954-1955
 * Mrs. Henry Grupe  1955-1957
 Mrs. James Miller  1957-1959
 Mrs. A. E. Massengale  1959-1960
 * Mrs. E. B. Snead  1960-1962
 * Mrs. John Beasley  1962-1963
 * Mrs. David L. Tisinger  1963-1964
 * Mrs. Gene Howard  1964-1965
 Mrs. W. L. DeGinder  1965-1966
 * Mrs. Roy Johnson  1966-1967
 Mrs. Tom McDougal  1967-1968
 * Mrs. Jim Boswell  1968-1969
 * Mrs. Sidney Hughes  1969-1970
  * Mrs. C. R. Walters
Federation President 1978-1979
 Mrs. Don Cottrell  1971-1972
 * Mrs. W. P. Mullener  1972-1973
 Mrs. George Krause  1973-1974
 Mrs. Walter Rasco  1974-1975
 * Mrs. Henry Llewellyn  1975-1976
 * Mrs. Leonard Nielsen  1976-1977
 Mrs. C. O. Smith  1977-1979
 Mrs. Clarence Ham  1979-1980
 *Mrs. Howard Payton  1980-1982
 Mrs. Jack Harris  1982-1983
 *Mrs. Clarence W. Guelker  1983-1984
 Mrs. Ben Morgan  1984-1985
 Mrs. Jim Yauger  1985-1987
 Mrs. James Redding  1987-1988
 Mrs. Harlan Ihnen  1988-1989
 * Mrs. Rex Crocker (Mary Jane)  1989-1990
 Mrs. Randy Berry  1990-1991
 * Mrs. Garvin Shipley  1991-1992
 Mrs. Bryon Blaschke (Carol)  1992-1993
 Mrs. Richard Curb (Anne Beck)  1993-1994
 Mrs. John Parker  1994-1995
 Mrs. Ed Kruczek (Lori)  1995-1996
 Mrs. Kenneth McDaniel (Mary)  1996-1997
 Mrs. Richard Gravett (Sue)  1997-1998
 Mrs. Sarah Ann Gowdey  1998-1999
 Mrs. Walt Richardson (Martha)  1999-2000
 * Mrs. Hugo Bazan (Loraine)  2000-2001
 Mrs. Mike Harrison (Nancy)  2001-2002
 Mrs. Bob Walters (Marjie)  2002-2003
 * Mrs. Bruce Nichols (Patsy)  2003-2004
 Mrs. C. B. Thomson (Pat)  2004-2005
 Mrs. Paul Abney (Vicky)  2005-2006
 Mrs. Bill Nalle (Christie)  2006-2007
 Mrs. Joe Allen (Karen)  2007-2008
 Mrs. Carolyn Storey  2008-2009
 Mrs. Joe Allen (Karen)  2009-2010
 Ms. Julie Black  2010-2011
 Mrs. Rick Mincher (Debbie)  2011-2012
 Mrs. Tom Munns (Sue)
Federation Board 2014-2018
 Mrs. Heather McAshan  2013-2014
 Mrs. Kathy Johnston  2014-2016
 Mrs. Shelly Taylor  2016-2017
 Mrs. David Isenhour (Denise)
Federation Board 2019-2020
 Mrs. Daniela Knight, Class of 1987
Federation Board 2019-2020 & 2020-2021
 Mrs. David Isenhour (Denise)
Federation Board 2020-2021

* deceased